Seedlings.

by hera

To my hypothetical child or children,

There have been many thoughts clouding my mind lately, but most of all it is how I’d be able to protect my non-existent child(ren) from being hurt in this wonderful, but cruel world. I always knew I wanted to be a mom and I can’t wait for that moment to finally come, but I don’t know if I’m still up to having six children as I used to daydream of… Even having one seems like a lot of responsibilities now that I’ve become aware of the realities of life.

I’m going to start writing to you so I can have some stories to dig up in the future, or maybe something for you to read when I’m old and ready to reveal my secrets (but honestly, do I even have any knowledge of value to anyone?).

Anyway, I just wanted to advice you to be honest. Say what you feel if someone asks you and even if they don’t ask you. If someone has hurt you in some way, tell them. Don’t be afraid to confront someone, but remember to be tactful. You have to be sensitive of other people’s feelings. Don’t be deceitful or hold grudges. Learn to let go of negative emotions. Know that you don’t have to agree 100% with someone to be their friend. Respect others and their opinion, hear different sides. Don’t be too quick to make judgments.

In short, I want you to be open-minded. I want you to get along with people from all walks of life. I want you to be liked and respected. Most of all, I want you to succeed.

But before you can do all that, you first have to exist…

If in case, I never have you I’d be very unsatisfied with life. So for all the times that I get mad at you, know that it was because I wanted to have you so much to complete my existence and I just want to keep you safe.

P.S. I’ve been watching too much Korean dramas, hence the advise about honesty and sensitivity. It’ll be useful one day and you’ll realize it (hopefully not when it’s too late).

